Summer Music Academy Bern

Masterclasses & Concerts

4. - 18. August 2024

Academy

The Summer Music Academy Bern is a supporting programme for young, national and international talents in the field of classical music. At the same time, the public is offered an attractive concert series with international musicians as well as young talents.

Reorganised and under new management, the Academy follows the former Academy format in Eywald. The Summer Music Academy Bern will take place for the first time at Villa Mettlen in Muri bei Bern from 4 - 18 August 2024. Located close to the capital and in a beautiful park, Villa Mettlen offers professionally equipped teaching and practice rooms as well as a concert hall and will become a true academy centre: in addition to the masterclasses, the library, the park and the joint dinners at the Villa offers the participants and professors a valuable opportunity to get in touch with like-minded people.

Pawel Mazurkiewicz and Caroline Komor founded the Summer Music Academy Bern association in 2024. As new co-directors, they bring the former Academy format founded by Pawel Mazurkiewicz in Eywald newly reorganised to Bern. 

pawel mazurkiewicz (2)

Pawel Mazurkiewicz, Professor at Bern University of the Arts. Piano studies in Warsaw (with Bronislawa Kawalla and Jan Ekier) and at the Bern University of the Arts with Tomasz Herbut (Tschumi Prize 2004). Winner of the "Prix Credit Suisse Jeunes Solistes 2003", the "National Chopin Competition Warsaw" and many other competition and recording prizes, which has enabled him to make a number of renowned international appearances as a soloist and chamber music partner. In 2020 he founded and directed the «Sommermusikakademie Eywald» (2020-23) in the Gantrisch region. He has been co-director since 2024 of the new founded «Summer Music Academy Bern».

Cari_Foto2

Caroline Komor is an art historian and has worked in the cultural sector for many years in the fields of art history, cultural management and cultural promotion. On the organiser`s side, she worked as a production manager of the cultural centre "Dampfzentrale Bern" and in the management of the "Sommerakademie im Zentrum Paul Klee" Bern. She has been Project Manager for Culture at the City of Burgdorf since 2023. She took part in courses of the "Sommermusikakademie Eywald" and is member of the "Orchestra Tabula Musica" in Bern. Since 2024, she has been co-director of the newly founded "Summer Music Academy Bern".

During the Covid pandemic travel restrictions the Polish-Swiss pianist and professor at Bern University of the Arts, Pawel Mazurkiewicz, enabled students to take part in self-organised masterclasses in Eywald in the Gantrisch region. Started in 2020 as a summer learning programme for young, talented musicians the format has grown and has also attracted students from abroad. In addition to the masterclasses there was also a organised series of concerts for the public.

From 2024 the newly reorganised Academy will take place in Bern, offering a better accessibility for the public and a more central location for students.

 

The Summer Music Academy Bern is supported by a strong patronage of well-known personalities from the world of music:

Claude Eichenberger - mezzo-soprano, winner of the 2022 Music Prize of the Canton of Bern for her "local work on a global scale". She is a lecturer at Bern University of the Arts and a member of the ensemble at Bühnen Bern.

Rico Gubler - Rico Gubler who studied saxophone, composition and law, has been Head of the Department of Music at Bern University of the Arts since 2023. He was previously President of the Lübeck University of Music for nine years and was and is a member of numerous cultural policy committees in Switzerland and abroad. He can look back on an eventful concert and composition career in Switzerland and abroad and taught a saxophone class at the University of Music in Lugano and later at the University of Music Lübeck.

Tomasz Herbut - pianist, professor at Bern University of the Arts and president and artistic director of the Bern Chopin Society. Tomasz Herbut is invited as a juror to various competitions and gives masterclasses in Europe as well as in Asia and North and South America.

Bartek Nizioł - violinist, concertmaster at Zurich Opera House, professor at Bern University of the Arts. Bartek Niziol plays first violin in the Zurich-based "Valentin Berlinski Quartet", which was founded in 2010. In August 2011, he made his debut together with star pianist Martha Argerich at the renowned "Chopin and his Europe" music festival in Warsaw. He is President of the Henryk Wieniawski Musical Society, Poznań (Poland).

Kaspar Zehnder - conductor and flautist, Musical Director of the Bern Chamber Orchestra since 2024, chief conductor of the Hradec Králové Philharmonic Orchestra (Czech Republic) since 2018. He held the same position with the Biel Solothurn Symphony Orchestra between 2012 and 2022. He is Artistic Director of the KlanGantrisch Festival and held the same position at Murten Classics until 2022. He was previously Music Director at the Zentrum Paul Klee, Bern (2004-2012) and Principal Conductor of the Prague Philharmonia (2005-2008).

Newsletter abonnieren

Summer Music Academy Bern

Masterclasses & Concerts

4. - 18. August 2024

Academy

Die Summer Music Academy Bern ist ein Programm zur Förderung von jungen, nationalen und internationalen Nachwuchstalenten im Bereich der klassischen Musik. Gleichzeitig wird dem Publikum mit einer öffentlichen Konzertreihe ein attraktives Programm mit internationalen Musikgrössen wie auch jungen Talenten geboten.

Neu aufgestellt und unter neuer Leitung schliesst die Summer Music Academy Bern an das ehemalige Akademieformat in Eywald an und findet vom 4. – 18. August 2024 zum ersten Mal in der Villa Mettlen in Muri bei Bern statt. Angrenzend zur Hauptstadt in einem Park im Grünen bietet die Villa Mettlen als Musikschule professionell ausgestattete Unterrichts- und Übungsräume sowie einen Konzertsaal und wird zum umfassenden Akademiezentrum: Ausserhalb des Unterrichts laden die Bibliothek, der Park und die gemeinsamen Nachtessen in der Villa die Teilnehmenden und Dozierenden zu einem wertvollen Austausch unter Gleichgesinnten ein.

Pawel Mazurkiewicz und Caroline Komor haben 2024 den Verein Summer Music Academy Bern neu gegründet. In der neuen Co-Leitung bringen sie das ehemalige, von Pawel Mazurkiewicz in Eywald gegründete Akademieformat nach Bern und stellen es neu auf. 

pawel mazurkiewicz (2)

Pawel Mazurkiewicz, Dozent an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. Klavierstudien in Warschau (bei Bronislawa Kawalla und Jan Ekier) und an der Hochschule der Künste Bern bei Tomasz Herbut (Tschumi Preis 2004). Preisträger des «Prix Credit Suisse Jeunes Solistes 2003», des «Nationalen Chopin Wettbewerbes Warschau» und vielen anderen Wettbewerbs- und Schallplattenpreisen, was ihm eine Reihe an renommierten internationalen Auftritten als Solist und Kammermusikpartner ermöglicht hat. Er hat 2020 die «Sommermusikakademie Eywald» (2020-23) im Gantrischgebiet gegründet und geleitet. Seit 2024 ist er Co-Leiter der neu gegründeten «Summer Music Academy Bern».

Cari_Foto2

Caroline Komor ist Kunsthistorikerin und seit vielen Jahren im Kulturbetrieb in den Bereichen Kunstwissenschaft, Kulturmanagement und Kulturförderung tätig. Auf Veranstalter:innenseite war sie als Produktionsleiterin des Kulturzentrums «Dampfzentrale Bern» und im Management der «Sommerakademie im Zentrum Paul Klee», Bern tätig. Seit 2023 ist sie Projektleiterin Kultur bei der Stadt Burgdorf. Sie hat selber an Kursen der «Sommermusikakademie Eywald» teilgenommen und ist Mitglied des «Orchester Tabula Musica» in Bern. Seit 2024 ist sie Co-Leiterin der neu gegründeten «Summer Music Academy Bern».

Während den Reise-Einschränkungen in der Covid-Pandemie hat der polnisch-schweizerische Pianist und Dozent an der Hochschule der Künste Bern HKB, Pawel Mazurkiewicz, den Studierenden die Teilnahme an selbst veranstalteten Meisterkursen in Eywald im Gantrischgebiet ermöglicht. Was 2020 unter Kolleg:innen als sommerliches Lernangebot für junge, talentierte Musiker:innen begonnen hat, ist gewachsen und hat auch Studierende aus dem Ausland angezogen. Neben den Meisterkursen fand jeweils auch eine Reihe von Konzerten für das Publikum statt.

Ab 2024 findet das Format neu aufgestellt und unter neuem Namen in Bern statt und bietet somit eine bessere Zugänglichkeit für das Publikum wie auch eine zentralere Lage für die Studierenden.

 

Die Summer Music Academy Bern wird von einem starken Patronat mit namhaften Persönlichkeiten aus der Musikwelt getragen:

Claude Eichenberger – Mezzosopranistin, Preisträgerin des Musikpreises des Kantons Bern 2022 für ihr «hiesiges Schaffen im Weltformat». Sie ist Dozentin an der Hochschule der Künste Bern und Mitglied des Ensembles bei Bühnen Bern.

Rico Gubler – Der studierte Saxophonist, Komponist und Jurist Rico Gubler leitet seit 2023 den Fachbereich Musik an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. Vorher führte er als Präsident neun Jahre die Musikhochschule Lübeck, war und ist Mitglied zahlreicher kulturpolitischen Gremien im In- und Ausland. Er kann auf eine bewegte Konzert- und Kompositionskarriere im In- und Ausland zurückblicken und unterrichtete jeweils eine Saxophonklasse an der Musikhochschule in Lugano sowie später an der Musikhochschule Lübeck.

Tomasz Herbut – Pianist, Professor Hochschule der Künste Bern und Präsident und künstlerischer Leiter der Bernischen Chopin-Gesellschaft. Als Juror wird Tomasz Herbut zu verschiedenen Wettbewerben eingeladen und gibt Meisterkurse sowohl in Europa wie auch in Asien und Nord- und Südamerika.

Bartek Nizioł – Violinist, Konzertmeister Opernhaus Zürich, Professor Hochschule der Künste Bern. Bartek Niziol spielt die erste Violine im 2010 gegründeten und in Zürich ansässigen «Valentin Berlinski Quartett». Im August 2011 debütierte er zusammen mit der Starpianistin Martha Argerich am renommierten Musikfestival «Chopin and his Europe» in Warschau. Er ist Präsident der Henryk Wieniawski Musical Society, Poznań (Polen).

Kaspar Zehnder – Dirigent und Flötist, Musikalischer Leiter Berner Kammerorchester (BKO) seit 2024, Chefdirigent Philharmonie Hradec Králové (Tschechien) seit 2018. In gleicher Funktion leitete er zwischen 2012 und 2022 das Sinfonie Orchester Biel Solothurn. Er ist künstlerischer Leiter des Festivals KlanGantrisch und war in gleicher Funktion bei Murten Classics bis 2022. Zuvor war er Musikalischer Leiter am Zentrum Paul Klee, Bern (2004-2012) und Chefdirigent der Prague Philharmonia (2005-2008).

Newsletter abonnieren